How the Dialysis Industry Recognizes Quality

Programs based on publicly reported data recognize and reward quality in the dialysis industry.

Five-Star Quality Rating System

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Five-Star Quality Rating System ranks all dialysis centers in the United States against quality measures that include lab values and hospitalization and mortality ratios.

  • For three years in a row, DaVita has outperformed the rest of the industry, with more four- or five-star rated centers.1

Quality Incentive Program (QIP)

The CMS Quality Incentive Program (QIP) is a pay-for-performance program that correlates CMS reimbursement directly to quality-of-care measures in dialysis centers.

  • DaVita leads the industry, with 98 percent of DaVita centers rated in the top clinical performance tier.2

Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CAHPS)

The Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CAHPS) program rates the consumer and patient experience with health care through an annual survey.

  • 91 percent of patients are satisfied with the quality of care that they receive at DaVita.3

Get in Touch

Read about the organizations being developed across the United States to enhance the quality of care ESRD patients receive. Contact us for more information.

1* According to 2015 data (for 2017 year) from the CMS Five-Star Quality Rating System. Although many DaVita centers outperformed other centers, only certain DaVita centers received a Four- or Five-star rating.
22015 CMS QIP Performance Score Report.
32014 ICH-CAHPS Survey.